A parent’s guide to teen driving

No other nation grants full driving privileges to 16-year-olds. In the United States, turning 16 is regarded as
the age when independence begins. No longer do teens have to rely on their parents for a ride.

Unfortunately, statistics show that most 16-year-olds may not be up to the new challenge.

Experts agree that most teen accidents and fatalities are caused by inexperience, recklessness and risk-
taking behaviors, poor judgment and overconfidence. Teens often are slower to perceive danger and may not
relate it to themselves -- the feeling that “I'm immortal.”

Most accidents involving teens can be attributed to driver error. Speed often is involved, and many incidents
are single-vehicle crashes.

According to the Kentucky State Police, 290 teen driv-
ers were involved in alcohol-related collisions across the
state during 2014. Of those 290, 13 were fatal. Licensed
teenage drivers represent only 7 percent of Kentucky
drivers; however, they are involved in 14 percent of all
collisions.

The financial reality of teen driving becomes obvious
when parents add a teen driver to the family insurance
policy. Some tips for reducing the cost of insurance are:

» Let your teen drive the safest car you own. Safety
features like air bags, anti-lock brakes and larger
cars reduce the risk of injury. In addition, rates will
be lower if the teen is driving a “family” car and not a
high-performance model.

» Make it clear that drinking and driving is unacceptable. In addition to the obvious dangers, your child needs
to realize that a DUI most likely will mean the only insurance option will be a high-risk carrier with corre-
sponding higher rates. Also remind your teen driver of the future importance of a clean driving record.

» Look for “good student” discounts.

» Remind your teen that seat belts must be worn and this includes seat belts for all passengers. Not only is
this common sense, it's Kentucky law. Besides increased safety, this limits the temptation to pile too many
teens into a car.

» Establish house rules for driving hours. About 40 percent of teen driving fatalities occur at night, especially
weekend nights.

» Ease your child into challenging situations and add driving privileges as the skill level improves.
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Accidentsinvolving teen driverstypically are single-vehicle crashes,“run-off-the-
road” accidents, driver error and/or speeding.

Based on crashesof all severities, therate per mile driven among those 16-19 years

old isfour timesthe risk among older drivers. The risk ishighest at age 16.

(Statisticsfrom Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and Highway LossData Institute, the Kentucky
Sate Police and the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet)




Tipsto share with your teen driver

> Your car is a deadly weapon. Respect this fact.

> Do not drink and drive. Never get in a car with someone who has been drinking. The same rules apply to
drugs.

» Always wear your seat belt and be sure your passengers buckle up, too.

» Obey the speed limit.

» Keep the radio turned down so you can hear any emergency sirens and react ap-
propriately.

» Don't do other things while driving. This is not the time to use a cell phone, put on
make-up, eat, change the radio station, etc. If it is necessary to do any of these
things, find a safe place (such as a parking lot) to pull off the road and stay parked
until you are finished.

» Make sure your car is well-maintained. Keep the windshield clean and the tires
properly inflated.

» Inevery driving situation, have a way out. Always be aware of what is going on around you.

» In bad weather, adjust your speed and driving habits accordingly. You will not be able to stop as quickly on
wet or snowy pavement and will need extra distance between your car and the ones in front of you. Use
headlights as appropriate.

Kentucky's graduated licensing program

In 1996, the Kentucky General Assembly passed the Graduated Driver’s License law aimed at reducing
Kentucky's teenage vehicular fatality rate. It includes a “zero alcohol tolerance” for drivers under 21, a lower
point system threshold and a six-month “permit period” in which drivers must be accompanied by a licensed
adult who is at least 21 years old. In addition, permit holders under 18 are restricted from driving between mid-
night and 6 a.m.

If you have additional questions about teen driving or other issues, you may contact the Kentucky Depart-
ment of Insurance’s Division of Consumer Protection through the website (http://insurance.ky.gov) or by phone
at 800-595-6053 (in Kentucky) or 502-564-3630 (out of state). The TDD number for the deaf/hard of hearing is
800-648-6056.

Kentucky Public Protection Cabinet Printed with state funds on

Department of Insurance recycled paper
PO. Box 517, Frankfort, KY 40602-0517
800-595-6053 (in Kentucky); 502-564-3630 (out of state) @

TDD: 800-648-6056
http://insurance.ky.gov

The Kentucky Department of Insurance does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, sexual orientation
or gender identity, ancestry, age, disability or veteran status. The cabinet provides, on request, reasonable accommodations necessary
to afford an individual with a disability an equal opportunity to participate in all services, programs and activities. To request materials
in an alternate format, contact the Department of Insurance, Communications Office, P.O. Box 517, Frankfort, KY 40602-0517, 800-
595-6053 (in KY) or 502-564-3630 (out of state). Hearing and speech-impaired persons can contact an agency by using the Kentucky

May 2021
. J

TEAM
KENTUCKY




